Why my faith in humanity has just gone down

So I really, really wanted to keep this blog positive, upbeat and about fashion, Beauty and health. I was originally planning a post on receiving my Stylish Surprise from Modcloth this week, but it looks like things change and now I’ll have to plan it for tomorrow.

So Today I was driving from a meeting in Long Beach to Torrance. It was a beautiful day today so I thought ‘What the Heck’ I’ll skip the air conditioning and roll the window down. Lana Del Rey was Blaring ‘Summertime Sadness’ and I was feeling pretty great. My shades were on and I was as relaxed as I had been all week just driving down PCH. That was until two guys pulled up in the left turn lane next to me in a white pickup. I saw they were looking at me but I just ignored it since it was a great day. Then they started calling out to me, they were asking for my name and number tell me how ‘cool and awesome’ I seemed and how hot I looked. i just smiled and told them I was married and flashed my wedding ring as to prove it. Unfortunately this did not deter them, in fact it seemed to spur them on even more.

Decided that I finally had enough and rolled up my window. This apparently displeased them greatly so they thought it was a good idea to throw trash, lit cigarettes and soda on my car, I was unable to get their license plate because their light turned green. I don’t know what I would have done had I gotten their license plate. The situation only took about a minute, but in that minuet my day was ruined and I still had to return to work.

PrettyTraining

When I returned to work I was upset and explained to my coworkers what happened. Their reaction was to roll their eyes and say ‘yea, I hate it when guys do that’ Now this isn’t the first time that I’ve been hit on then yelled at for not reacting the way they wanted. I have even been groped in a club before (I immediately tried to fight the guy). Why is this is normal for us? Why do we just look the other way when behavior like this happens? I’m not just talking about men either, I’ve seen women harass others just as much. Why do people think that cat calling while hanging out of your car is okay? Do you think this would make me like you? Do you think that it turns me on when you yell or touch me inappropriately? I’m a married women who deeply loves her husband why in the world would I was to cheat especially with someone like you?

This is not okay. It will never be okay and we should accept this.

Leave a Reply

