Girls Night In!

So every other Tuesday  a couple of my friends and I have a girls night in where we get dressed up to some kind of theme then make some drinks, then sit and watch some girly movie we haven’t seen in years.

Last night was Princess Diaries deuce: Royal Beat down. Okay it wasn’t really called that but wouldn’t it be amazing if it was? Its actually called Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement. Last girls time we watched Princess Diaries so its only natural we watch the sequel. I really had no say in the matter as my partners in girls night were the ones to actually pick the movie but its only fair to let them have a couple before I swoop in a take over.

Our fashion theme attire was tea party, something that completely baffled me. I was told something “flowy” so that was what I wore but apparently flowy was not the word that should have described a tea party dress. A tea party attire (at least in my opinion now) is a dress made of light, pastel material usually worn with sheer stocking and a kitten heel, can be accessorized with a clutch purse and big floppy hat. Oh how I wish for a big floppy hat, I would wear it every day.

The drink of choice for that night was a Peartini (Pear Martini) since unfortunately Bevmo does not carry Peartini mixer we were forced to “wing it” or substitution was pear juice and of course vodka.

Peartini recipe:

1 part Pear Juice
1 Part Vodka

Combine Juice and Vodka in shaker along with Ice. Shake to your hearts content. Pour into Martini Glass.

That’s easy enough. it was also very delicious, the pear juice made it sweet while the vodka balances it out. This is definitely something I’ll be drinking again.

It’s been a LONG time since I’ve seen Princess Diaries two: Royal Engagement that I was completely baffled by the fact that it starred Chris Pine. This immediately blew my mind, my mind was blown even further by the fact that Stan Lee made a cameo appearance. this lead me to believe that I was missing something somewhere, that there was a Princess Diaries comic where Mia was actually a super hero who had to take back her land from a evil super villain. I’m thinking it was probably Doctor Doom, yea definitely  Doctor Doom. He seems like he would try to take her land.

This lead us to have a discussion about whether we should cosplay at next years Wondercon, even going so far as to plan these outfits (we most likely would never wear). Seeing Stan Lee also reminded me that this weekend is Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo at convention center, I’m super excited!

Bottom line is, The dress was a failure, the drinks were a hit and the movie well let’s just say its was okay even if I don’t remember half of it.

Leave a Reply

